starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 28: Goal 1667, Actual 1827

Let’s get this little bit out of the way:

I wasn’t really sure I was going to finish tonight. After my first 8 minutes of writing, I had produced a respectable 270 words or so. Unfortunately, in the following 30 minutes, I produced nothing (due to my lack of will to turn off the stupid television…). And when I did get back to writing, I was sluggish, easily distracted (ooh doughnut…) and not terribly interested in finishing this piece of drivel I have produced in the last month.

I did edit the name of one of the scenes from what I had originally put down (something like “And what happened next?”) to what it really covered (“Gratuitous sex scene that has no place in here”). Notes like that help me find the parts that should be expanded upon or stricken down like a plague-bearing rat.

I did have a lot of fun this year. Between racing my brother at the beginning, to becoming a bit of a cheerleader for a handful of local WriMos, I couldn’t help but smile about what I was working on. Even if it really had nothing to do with what I set out to do.

I wrote this year as a full “pantser” – which is to say I wrote with no outline, no planning whatsoever. I didn’t even have an idea of where to start until I actually sat down and started.

But this isn’t the end. The saying goes that November is for writing and December/January/”some other month” is for editing. I am following through on that this year.

Starting with tomorrow, I am going to be in editing mode for Jacoby Figurine. With any luck, it will be finished before the end of December, but really I am just aiming on working on it again. It is over two years old now, time to stop saying I am going to do it, and just do it.

Thanks to everyone who has enjoyed this journey with me. Good luck to my brother in finishing. Congratulations on the one person I know who is up to 120k. Congratulations to all the others who put pen to paper (figuratively and especially literally) and made an effort.

PS. To those keeping score with the “home game” – you’ll actually note that I am a full 40 words short according to my own count. I only care about the “official number” that the NaNo site counts – which is 50,062. That count is the only one that matters for the site and it is good enough for me.

2 comments on “Day 28: Goal 1667, Actual 1827

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    November 29, 2012

    Congratulations! It’s nice to be done.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 29, 2012 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

