starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 27: Goal 1667, Actual 1372

I must thank Katy over at Savor Life’s Flavors for putting this image up today. The end is near folks. Even the snowmen know it:

I like comical cookies. What can I say?

Well, there are three days left to NaNoWriMo 2012. How is everyone doing?

I had a good discussion with my brother this morning about some random bits. Some of this is valuable advice for dealing with NaNo. Other bits of it is less so…

Me: congrats on 2k yesterday BTW
My brother: Yeah. Still not enough to finish on time.
Me: and yet it is 8 solid pages. That is not something to just throw away either
My brother: I know I’m just trying to figure out how to get the last 10k in the time remaining.
My brother: Do you use a thesaurus at all for nano? Or do you just go with the first word that pops in your head and worry about massaging it latter?
Me: first word
Me: anything that would stop my process – I completely put out of my mind
Me: I try to make names of people, places, things as simple as possible – even if they don’t fit the genre of the story – because if I have to look up a name – that takes too long
Me: as for how to get the last 10k – I would recommend word wars. Often.
Me: Even if you are only getting 300-500 words/word war – if you do 4-5 tonight, tomorrow and Thursday – then you are well on your way to be able to finish on Friday
Me: word wars allow you to get out of your own way too
My brother: I’ve got that other problem rearing it end as well. The end of the story. Right now the characters are assaulting the final base.
Me: well if it ends too early, there’s nothing saying that there couldn’t be an additional altercation at the end
Me: didn’t you say that one of the people helping your main might have ulterior motives?
My brother: Yes. They already killed one of his android bodies.
Me: plus – after the “final” action – there’s usually some amount of closure you need to write anyway. 10k is a bit much in a 50k piece – but not bad for a longer one. So you might just be setting yourself up to increase the length later
My brother: I know. I am tempted to just end it without any closure. She does all this to save her friends. And she end holding the corpse of one of them. Post apocalypse is harsh after all. But I’m not sure I’m going to kill him either. Still need to decide how I want it to end.
Me: you could always go with the alternate ending route – write a couple of scenes closing out the story to either pick one later or do it like the Clue movie
My brother: [My Wife] wants me to rename the main character to use her character’s name. I told her maybe she should read it first and decide if she really wants that.
Me: lol
Me: she doesn’t have any say in your creative process – if she wants that – she should write a book instead of talking about it
My brother: lol
My brother: I told [My Wife] your response about the main character’s name. She says she has not nice words for you.
Me: she can have all the “not nice” words she wants. But until they are on paper – they don’t count

In all seriousness, getting out of your own way is one of the aspects of NaNo I think is the best. I might not create the absolute best story each November, but I do get to create something that, as past has indicated, I wouldn’t have otherwise.

I also had the pleasure of watching a fellow NaNo-er do a personal “all-day write-in” for himself. He started off the day at about 38k and is at 48k now. 10,000-word-days ROCK.

I had a substantially lower production today. I think I could finish if I was inclined to do so, but I’m trying to find a reasonable ending to this… interesting? convoluted? story. For most of the month, I didn’t really know where I was going or where it would end up. Now that I’m about 2000 away from the goal, I know it is ending, but I don’t know just how yet. I finished two quick scenes tonight and had some major revelations in them, but it mostly opens up new questions. Answers have to come in those last 2000 words, but I am not sure yet what they are.

And this is why I love writing…

Have a good night all. Have fun finishing your novels, finishing your Novembers or whatever else.

One comment on “Day 27: Goal 1667, Actual 1372

  1. Pingback: Day 23: Goal 1667, Actual 1674 | starstolenwritings

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2012 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

