starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 19: Goal 1667, Actual 1688

This week is likely to be a little odd for the writing side, so I made sure to get a regular day’s worth of writing in even though I am enough ahead that I could reasonably take it easy. Truth be told, I’m not liking the end of the story at this point, but it is still telling itself fairly well, so it isn’t too much to just write it down so I can move on.

My brother asked me today what I intended to do with my NaNoNovels and that seems like a reasonable thing to talk about here. So – in terms of NaNos, I’ve got the previous two years complete plus this one almost done. I’ve also got one I wrote in August 2010, before my first attempt. That one – which is tentatively called the Jacoby Figurine stands at about 30k in length and is fighting for my attention to finish rewriting. I had initially written it in a first person present type of point of view, but it really read oddly and so one of the big changes I’m making to it is making it more of a 3rd person limited POV. I like it much more in this form, but it does take some work.

That story also has a bad ending – or rather – I don’t like how it gets to the ending. So I either need to come up with a better ending or work on the transition to get to the ending. Since it is in that auspicious place where it is “too long” to be a short story and “too short” to be a novel, it really needs to be worked on until it figures out what it wants to be. And if it ends up at 30k after I am done working with it – so be it. Right now though, I think it could be considerably lengthened and improved to get to the ending and maybe clean that up too.

After that – my 2010 NaNo “Slivers” could be fixed up rather well. I was pretty happy through the first 20-25k of that book and I think I could make the ending work, again with a better transition and more forethought into how to get from point A to point B.

The 2011 NaNo “The Dreamers” will likely be shelved. It is just a Dungeons and Dragons adventure really and while I could clean it up so that it wouldn’t need to be published by Wizards of the Coast (or with a license from them), I think I’m content to let it stand as is. It isn’t a ground-breaking novel by any means and like most of my other writing, suffers from an ending I wasn’t quite ready for.

This one could go any number of ways and while I don’t like where I’ve gotten to, I can see the middle part working with some better hints in the beginning or making the beginning work and ripping out the middle and end that I’ve got tentatively planned.

In terms of other bodies of writing, I really want to get Dear Timothy rewritten. Since I don’t have any physical copies of it, I’ll have to do it from memory and really do my best to stay true to the creepy narrator that I had. It was pretty short at 2400 words, but I feel it was my first attempt at “something different” than my regular high fantasy.

There’s definitely plenty of pieces to work on. 2013 might be my year to actually finish one of them. I certainly have a different mindset than my past few years and, like most years during NaNoWriMo, I’m pretty well inspired to “get things done.” Hopefully this blog will show that effort well after November. I guess we’ll have to see though.

2 comments on “Day 19: Goal 1667, Actual 1688

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    November 20, 2012

    Today, I can’t stand my story, but that feeling seems to change day to day. đŸ™‚

    • starstealer363
      November 20, 2012

      I’m a firm believer in write it once and then revise it later. I may not like it in its current state today, but often my feelings about it when I am writing it can be skewed by my perceptions of how I think things are going.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2012 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

