starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 12: Goal 1667, Actual 1434

This installment of the blog is brought to you by:

(credit goes to Warner Brothers here)

While reading through the last few lines of yesterday’s writing I discovered that I had written “He hung up andI settled into a kitchen chair.” So before I got to writing today, I got to boost my word count by 1 WHOLE WORD. And you bet that gets added to tonight’s total.

Bonus words like that really make my day. I needed it too. Mondays are really a bad thing. I wish I could cut them out entirely.

Tonight was punctuated with my sons getting into a fight with each other. The only bits that I was able to piece together from their crying mouths was that one pushed the other, then the other hit the one and lastly, and the only thing I actually saw, the one threw a dinosaur at the other. Ribs were clutched, angry words were yelled and many tears were shed. And at the end of it all, I felt like I had been beaten up and left in an alley. Not sure how that works, but I’m sure it is a parental curse or something.

So I wasn’t exactly looking forward to writing tonight and had almost convinced myself that I didn’t need to. However, once I got my bonus word… well my mood just changed. Off I went.

At the beginning of the month, after I figured out what I was writing, I decided to call it “Mainstream fiction” on the NaNo site. It was the closest I could think of at the time. As I went though, I started feeling like it might be more like a young adult fiction, borderline trashy romance. Then I killed off the love interest and my narrator went insane and is starting to piece things back together. His love interest isn’t dead, but not with him and out of the picture nonetheless.

So what do I call it? Mystery?

Well, I was doing just fine starting to piece it all together myself when I finished tonight’s session with this. The narrator had just finished a game of Spades with some friends of his and was in his room, getting ready for bed. He had to turn on the radio – which he was certain was on from earlier, but wasn’t – and then started to get changed and feels a hand touch his shoulder.

I want to continue on, but I’m not real sure what this hand is, so I want to think on it for the night. It could be a physical hand – so someone has snuck into his house and either intends him harm, or not. Or it could be immaterial, a ghost hand – from a real ghost or otherwise – which would twist this story into yet another genre. Or it could be just his imagination – a play of the curtains or some other nonsense. Really, there is a whole lot it could be. I dare say there are more things it could be than couldn’t.

And that’s why I’m leaving it there. When I go back to write again tomorrow, I have this delicious piece of unknown to work on.

Oh, and on another note, Wednesday is NaNo’s “Donation Day.” If you haven’t donated yet, you should definitely do so. If you don’t want to do it for yourself, do it for me. Heck, put my name on it – I’ll take the credit. Just kidding, I’ll just take the money… oh wait.

Have a good night everyone and let your word counts reproduce like bunnies overnight.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2012 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

