starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 11: Goal 1667, Actual 1954

I spent a little part of today reflecting on how I had done in previous NaNoWriMos. Basically, of the two I have attempted before, I just barely finished. The last few days were pretty big days, exhausting and often difficult in their own right. The chart below shows the challenge (in blue) and my path in red for 2010 and in green for 2011. You can’t see the 2012 purple line since it is pretty much exactly on target. It is there though.

NaNo offers a fairly unique challenge to those partaking in it. November isn’t a very convenient month for many people, especially those of us in the US who celebrate Thanksgiving. Still, finding a month that is good for everyone is impossible. And, for what its worth, it isn’t about making it an easy challenge. It is a challenge, it is supposed to be difficult, to some extent anyway.

I know I could manage 50k in any given month if I was writing regularly. The fact that I could churn out 1600 words without too much difficulty in less than an hour is a pretty good show that I could do this without too much difficulty. The challenge for me is both finding that hour over the course of my day and to actually use that hour to be productive.

In 2010, I was excited and I had a fair amount of support from both my wife and from others around me. The fact that I was excited did not stop me from falling very far behind though and when I looked at needing the better part of 17000 words in the last week, I was worried I might not finish. And when I was still 7000 behind on the last day, I was really worried.

In 2011, I had just talked with my wife about getting a divorce. Along with everything else that goes with that – the pain and the loss and the mourning of what had been a third of my life, it was very difficult to find the energy to get the words out on paper. I had a lot of support from my family and from the local WriMos though, so I persevered.

This year, I’m finding myself in relative solitude as I write. I haven’t been to a single write-in yet and while I talk with my brother about his progress and watch eagerly for the numbers to update on the ten people I watch on the NaNo site, I don’t really “talk shop” with anyone about it. As a result, despite the vast differences between the first two years, this year feels the most strange to me. This year I am keeping up, at least so far anyway, but inexplicably to me, I am looking forward to writing each day and don’t talk about it pretty much at all except when I am writing. I was talking the other day with someone and he said I looked much less stressed and I think he’s pretty much right on. Writing was a good way to relieve stress for me and I should write more.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2012 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

