starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 4: Goal 1667, Actual 2076

The truth is, there is no perfect time to write. When I have had opportunity to write in the morning, I find I am much more prolific than when the same opportunity presents itself at night. If I have inspiration to write, it rarely comes when I have opportunity. So what is a busy writer to do? Either make more opportunities or take advantage of inspiration when it comes.

This morning, I had what I thought was going to be at least a solid half-hour of time (maybe even an hour), because my three kids started working on building a set of toys that takes a while to setup. Figuring the time to set it up and then actually play with it, I was really expecting them to be well occupied. I settled myself into a chair with my laptop and churned out the words as fast as they would come… for five minutes.

Interruption #1 came in the form of my youngest claiming that he was absolutely dry and would die of thirst if I didn’t get him some milk. This 5-year old is a persistent kid, so I knew if I didn’t get it for him, I’d either never hear the end of it, or, worse, he’d try to get it himself and I’d have a large mess to clean up (which I did fairly recently…)

However, with that resolved, he went back to the engineering of whatever-the-toy-is-that-they-were-putting-together and I was able to settle in with the beginnings of my novel once again. That lasted for 9 minutes.

Interruption #2 came in the form of my daughter (8) directing the other two on how to properly assemble the set of toys and why they were doing it completely wrong. And when my daughter thinks you are doing it wrong, she has to raise her voice so the neighbors in Florida can hear her and she’s not opposed to grabbing your cheeks if she hasn’t gotten your undivided attention either. I jumped up and got her to calm down with a moderate amount of explaining that they can build it in any number of manners, that they didn’t have design sheets to work from or anything. Truly, this wasn’t legos, but it might as well have been because it did not have a set plan on how they went together.

Things did calm down though and to my joy, the words started pouring out of my head and into the computer once again. This time for 6 minutes and that was the end of it. This time the youngest and my oldest had irreconcilable differences and I had to separate them. After that it was a game of War, 2 games of Go Fish with the youngest, and four hands of Rummy with the oldest.

Still, with that pitiful 20 minutes, I managed a respectable 649 words, so I’m not going to complain too much about the production value of it (I will complain that my kids can’t seem to get along, but isn’t that my job as a parent?).

Combine that production with another 1400 words tonight and I managed to not only make the daily goal but also cut into the deficit left by yesterday’s non-production.

So grand total right now is standing at 6081, a shade less than 600 behind pace. I could definitely knock out the rest of that before bed, but I think it is a good place to stop for the night.

One comment on “Day 4: Goal 1667, Actual 2076

  1. Pingback: Distractions « starstolenwritings

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2012 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

