starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 2: Goal 1667, Actual 2259

I got to start off the day with this heartwarming thought from my brother, who is participating in NaNo for the first time this year:

BTW 45 mins and you hit 1700. You suck.

I like to inspire. That’s inspiration folks. You just need to read between the lines – that’s all…
Anyway – I had a solid day of work and managed to cap it off with about a little over a half-hour of writing this afternoon while my youngest had an appointment. Thirty-five minutes produced a solid 1273 words. For those keeping score (which I do, because I like to keep statistics about this kind of stuff), I actually wrote at a slightly slower pace today than I did yesterday (37.95 WPM yesterday vs 36.37 WPM today). That’s not really significant of course, but that’s the kind of useless numbers I keep on hand.

The best part about this production is that it falls before I actually sit down to write for the night. So now that I am sitting down and getting ready to write, I have the reasonable hope to cap off the night above 4,000  or even 5,000. We’ll see though.

Getting ready to write is a pretty standard set of activities and rituals for me. I either put the TV on a music choice or listen to the radio for at least twenty minutes. If I don’t give myself some time to adjust to the music in the background, I have found I tend to focus on it too much. After that, I close down pretty much everything except the program I use to author with.

Before I start typing, I typically take a few minutes to read the last few paragraphs of what I wrote the last time as well. This helps get me back into the story of where I left off and where I was planning on heading.

That’s pretty much it. I can keep a fairly reasonable rate of typing and flow of thought with this. The times I have tried to write in complete silence or with the TV on in the background, I have had plenty of issues getting through what I was working on.

Okay – I’ll be back in a bit to update with my final tally for the night. Good writing all.
11pm Update:

I did get in another 25 minutes this evening. I only added another 986, but I’m starting to really enjoy working with this story line and set of characters. I am a little concerned that it won’t last a full 50,000, but I need to see further in before I can start worrying about that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 3, 2012 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

