starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 1: Goal 1667, Actual 1746

First off, a little history. In 2010, I spent from August to October with an exercise to do the “daily news” which is a pretty simple commitment to writing about three pages each day in a stream of consciousness style. It is a good exercise for me because I can do it pretty easily in about twenty minutes.

During those exercises, I kept on trying to continue a story or rather restart a story that was really nagging at me. Around mid-October I decided to write it for NaNo and the first 25,000 words were pretty easy as a result.

In 2011, I had decided on a story, all of the major characters (and character sketches) by the time November 1st rolled around. As a result, the first 30,000-35,000 words came pretty easily to me.

This year, NaNo snuck up on me. I realized in September that time was running short; in October it was a virtual blur. I did 2 days of the daily news in those two months and nothing was coming to my fingertips otherwise.

So to say I was stressing this year is a bit of an understatement.

Also, in the past two years, I’ve stayed up until midnight and wrote at least my first few hundred words. Unfortunately, for the past week, I’ve been fairly under the weather and not sleeping too well. In addition, I had a pretty important presentation for work today, so I wanted to make sure I was fresh for it. So, dutiful worker that I am, I turned in around 11pm last night and swore that I would write today.

And for my diligence? I slept less than 4 hours and woke up 3 times during the night.

I had about an hour this afternoon to myself after work was done and before I needed to do anything else, so I tuned out the world and sat down to write.

The Result? 250 words that I hated and that I didn’t know where to go.

Time to give up? Time to call it a day and take a fresh look tomorrow?

Definitely not. I haven’t yet been behind at the end of day 1. I’m not going to start this year.

The kids were finally asleep around nine, so I tuned in to some music, sat down and started writing. An idea just came to me as I sat down, so I decided to see where it would take me. Forty-six minutes later, I was staring at just under 1750 words and have a good idea of where the story is going to go next.

It feels great to be writing again. The wall doesn’t hit me usually until about halfway, so I’ve got at least a week of some fun posts ahead. Not all of them will be this productive though – so be prepared.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

