starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Welcome to NaNoWriMo 2012

The good days are when you perform; the slow days are when you learn to perform better. The only bad days as a writer are the ones when you are too cowardly or too lazy to sit down at the keyboard and give it everything you have. — Chris Cleave (pep talk from NaNoWriMo 2011)

Hello everybody.

This is my 3rd year participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). In past years, I’ve posted to various forums and facebook, but I figured I would try something different this year.

First off, the challenge of NaNoWriMo is fairly well known. For those who don’t know – here’s the quick details: 30 days to write at least 50,000 words in a fresh and clean novel. The idea here is to write it from start to finish and worry about editing later.

I started doing NaNo back in 2010 when I realized that a combination of life events (the birth of my children) and personal procrastination had left me about 8 years of no substantial writing. I had plans to become a novelist back in high school and college, but somewhere along the way, I lost my way.

So I contracted myself to do NaNo in 2010 and finished. I even wrote a short story in August, just to warm up, but it didn’t really get me writing. In 2011, I decided to pick up the figurative pen again and finished once more. Now it is November 1st, 2012 and I didn’t really write much this year either. So yes, here I am again and I will finish again.

So, once again, hello and welcome to the fun and slight madness of NaNoWriMo. Day 1 starts here!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Navigation

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

Learning to Love Anywhere

it's a beautiful existence...

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

