starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Day 1: Goal 1667, Actual 1673

45 minutes is a reasonable commitment to do something difficult. I’ve learned that giving myself 45 minutes on most days will give me just enough time to reach my daily goal for NaNo. Most days when I am clear-headed, calm and willing to let the words flow onto the computer.

Today happened to be one of those days. I didn’t have a real clear idea of where the story was going to start, but I knew I’d have something once the words started and I was pretty much correct. The opening scene was not flawless and I did jumble over a few ideas until it came out the way I was expecting, but ultimately that’s good enough for me.

At fifteen minute intervals, I’ve been checking my progress and was pretty much spot on at 500-600 words. That’s what I’ve come to expect. 15 minutes is a solid sprint for words and while I can type a fair while longer than that uninterrupted when the story is flowing well, tonight’s was much more jumbled. I like how I’ve started this story and I think that it will have an easy 50k to see it through to its completion, but it is a little outside of my comfort zone as I haven’t been terribly strong with mysteries before and that’s really where I am going with it (even if it is set in a fantasy world).

On a more personal note, I’ve got two family members joining me on the journey to 50k this month – one of my brothers and one of my nieces. Good luck to them both (and congratulations on making your day 1 goals respectively).

Day 1 down – 29 to go.

3 comments on “Day 1: Goal 1667, Actual 1673

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    November 2, 2013

    Good luck!

    • starstealer363
      November 2, 2013

      Thanks Jill! Are you pursuing the 50k goal this year?

      • Jill Weatherholt
        November 2, 2013

        Not this year. I’m editing and rewriting last year’s project. Looks like you’re off to a good start.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2013 by in NaNoWriMo and tagged , .
just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

the beauty of existence

learning to love anywhere

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations While Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

Just another WordPress.com site

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Just keep writing...

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Life, Captioned

Captioning Stories and Thoughts To Share Amongst the Blogging Community

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

the beauty of existence

learning to love anywhere

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations While Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

Just another WordPress.com site

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Just keep writing...

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Life, Captioned

Captioning Stories and Thoughts To Share Amongst the Blogging Community

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

