starstolenwritings

Writing, Family and More

Calm Before the Storm

In case you live in a box or don’t live in the relative area of the north east, apparently we’re supposed to get a bit of a storm in the next couple of days. And by a bit of a storm, apparently it is going to be a blizzard.

Now that I’ve informed all my readers, the appropriate response is to apparently panic because we never have storms like this. Never. That’s why there were lines into the street to get gas today and why there were only two carts at the grocery store that were unused. This is full on panic time apparently, but I’m just not one of those people. If I lose power for a significant period, that will start to get me annoyed and looking for a solution. Otherwise, I’ll hunker down, enjoy some hot chocolate and tell the kids to be quiet while I get through work tomorrow.

I do quite enjoy the snow and I’m looking forward to walking down to the park on Saturday with the kids and forcing them to endure minutes of unbridled snowball fights, but I’ve got to get through the workday first. Saturday should be money though. Nothing like two feet of pure snowball power…

I blame the lack of progress on the hype of the storm. It isn’t true of course, but I haven’t had much progress anyway. I’m making some progress and if I am not done by the end of the month, I will be very disappointed, but it has been difficult to get into Jacoby Figurine again. I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that my f key seems to be on the fritz and is pissing me off… It’s the little things… that really get under my skin.

I’m still making my way through chapter 6, which was originally the 3rd chapter. It is going quickly when I set down to work on it, but it is also a bloated chapter and tries to do too much, and not anything to do with the main arcs of the story. So basically, it is a lot of fluff and not so much substance. I am working on fixing that.

So, if you are slated to get some snow tomorrow and Saturday, get out and enjoy it. Don’t drive in it if you don’t have to obviously, but do enjoy it. It may never come back. After all, we never have storms like this…

4 comments on “Calm Before the Storm

  1. Jill Weatherholt
    February 8, 2013

    No snow in the forecast for Charlotte. Don’t forget to rush to the store for bread and milk! Enjoy!

    • starstealer363
      February 8, 2013

      I figure the rest of the state already did so I must have enough through osmosis.

      In all seriousness, I did go to the grocery store yesterday, but only because it was a normal day for needing groceries… and yes – it was packed and it was torture.

      • Jill Weatherholt
        February 8, 2013

        I can only imagine. People will knock you down to get that last carton of milk. I’m glad you got your groceries. Have fun ~ be safe!

  2. sharipratt3@gmail.com
    March 7, 2013

    I lived in Hawaii as a kid – twice in fact, but no explanation in today’s comment.
    When Matson Lines went on strike – which they did at least twice during our second habitation – major panic ensued and for good reason. Matson Lines was the huge shipping company that brought essential items into the islands. On an overpopulated island that produces very little of its own food, a cargo hold of food provides for your family. Coconuts only take you so far in a meal.
    So when they went on strike, the island went into panic. Realize that Hawaii is more than 2000 miles from the mainland and trying to drive beyond the state borders for a gallon of milk and loaf of bread is always a bad idea. Nothing isolates you so much as a need for something to feed the kids is knowledge that you can’t.
    Just the hint of a strike and folks emptied island grocery stores in hours. People bought two or three 50 pound bags of rice and stripped the produce and meat sections in minutes. One strike went on for so long that milk was rationed for months. Only if a family had preschoolers could they get milk.
    I’ve lived through New Jersey’s blizzards and hurricanes also. (Now you know why my family packed us up and headed for paradise.) We hunkered down during one blizzard in my dad’s medical office, attached to the house as was common back then, for several days, cooking hot dogs over the fireplace. We kids thought it much fun, having no understanding for economy or employment or ill patients needing medical care no matter the weather.
    You seem sanguine in the face of deprivation. Enjoy the snowball fight, and I hope you stocked up on milk and hot dogs. Maybe a few marshmallows for toasting.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2013 by in Editing and tagged , , , , , .
Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

the beauty of existence

learning to love anywhere

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations While Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Do Not Get Sick in the Sink, Please

Humor and Sex. Mostly Sex.

just a dad with disney questions

reading into things way too much...

Finding Faeries

My continuing mission to explore ... magic

the beauty of existence

learning to love anywhere

ffeathers

A technical writing and fiction blog by Sarah Maddox

My Hike, 2014

I don't want to get to the end of my life and regret that I didn't do this

18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

It's a beautiful country, but you're going to miss most of it if you spend your free time in the truck stop lounge. Travel tips and pics for truckers and others.

kellysgratitudegarden

a gratitude offering...

Pierr Morgan

Wild Observations While Walking

Karma on the Trail

"'That's good for a beginning,' said Frodo. 'I feel like walking.'"

Rejection Love Letters

or A thousand ways to say 'NO!'

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Shannon A Thompson

You need the world, and the world needs good people.

ChopperPapa

go to Chopperpapa.com

Musings of A Learning Pro

Writing, Family and More

Today's Author

Fostering a community of creative writers through articles, comments, writing prompts and a healthy, supportive environment.

Gabrielle Edits

Writing, Family and More

Annema

Anne chews the fat

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

